What is the Diamond Clarity Grade Scale? | Rare Carat

The GIA diamond clarity grading scale

The diamond clarity grade scale as determined by GIA is a way for diamond graders to communicate to consumers how many imperfections or blemishes there are in a particular diamond. It looks like this:

Qualified gemologists carefully examine each little gem in turn, locating every single tiny spot and mark and then decide where the diamond might fit within the 11 possible clarity grades on the scale. This ‘grade’ will depend on how many of these flaws they find, how big they are, and also where they are.

No imperfections at all? Well that’s ‘flawless’ (or ‘FL’ if you want to be really nerdy/awesome and use the diamond lingo). A few little blemishes? That’s ‘very slightly included’. Massive black mark in the middle of the stone like an uninvited guest at a wedding? That’ll be ‘included’.

It also goes without saying that the higher the grade, the bigger the price tag. 

Don’t worry about these imperfections though, almost all diamonds are born this way, and most are invisible to the naked eye. In fact, instead of seeing them as a negative, see them as beauty marks that will save you some cash if you are savvy!

To find out how to do this though, you have to learn more. Thankfully we have you covered:

FL Clarity Diamonds

IF Clarity Diamonds

VVS1 Clarity Diamonds

VVS2 Clarity Diamonds

VS1 Clarity Diamonds

VS2 Clarity Diamonds

SI1 Clarity Diamonds

SI2 Clarity Diamonds

Dr. Rian Mulcahy
Dr. Rian Mulcahy
Rian is officially a Diamond PhD - just ping us if you’d like to read her fascinating 200-page thesis, titled Facets of Value: An Investigation into the Formation of Worth in the Diamond Market. She has consulted various firms all along the pipeline, from the rough diamond market to the recycled diamond industry. She holds an MA in Globalisation and Development from University College Cork and a PhD in the Sociology of Diamond Valuation from the London School of Economics.